Cristiano Ronaldo wins his Fourth Ballon D’Or

Cristiano Ronaldo wins his Fourth Ballon D’Or


France Football has announced today the winner of the Ballon D’Or trophy. For the fourth time in history, Real Madrid player Cristiano Ronaldo has won the most important individual trophy in football. The Portuguese star beat Leo Messi and Antoine Griezmann in the votations.

Cristiano Ronaldo also won the Ballon D’Or in 2008, when he was playing with Manchester United. Then, he won the award in 2013 and 2014 with the new name FIFA Ballon D’or because France Football and FIFA gave the prize together. This year, the magazine again gave the award alone to the Real Madrid player.

Cristiano Ronaldo is currently in Japan fighting to win the FIFA Club World Cup, his fourth trophy of the year. The striker won the Champions League with Real Madrid after scoring the final penalty kick and after being the topscorer of the competition. In summer, he couldn’t participate in the European SuperCup because he was injured. And now he also has the chance to win for the second time this trophy, after the one lifted in Morocco only two years ago.

With his national team, Cristiano Ronaldo won the first Euro of the history. The Real Madrid player was the captain of the Portuguese team but, unfortunately, he got injured in the first minutes of the final against France. Luckily for Portugal, they won the trophy and Cristiano Ronaldo could raise another huge cup.

With this award, Cristiano Ronaldo made again history in football. Only Leo Messi has won more Ballon D’Or and he keeps getting trophies, both individually or collectively. There won’t be time to celebrate right now because he is just two games away of winning another trophy in his career. Then, Cristiano Ronaldo we’ll have time to celebrate this Christmas.