Cristiano Ronaldo claims third Ballon d’Or award

Cristiano Ronaldo claims third Ballon d’Or award


Cristiano Ronaldo has beaten Leo Messi and Manuel Neuer to win his third Ballon d’Or. The Real Madrid forward has been chosen as the best player of the year for a second consecutive occasion.

Ronaldo received 37.66% of the votes, while Messi obtained 15.76% and Neuer 15.72%. Former Barcelona man Thierry Henry handed Cristiano the trophy.

The Portuguese celebrated the victory with a shout, after thanking his family: “It’s been an unforgettable year at a personal level, and it is something unique to win such an award. This is a motivation to win more titles. I dedicate this to my family, my mother, my brothers, my father who is up there, and also to Portuguese people.”

Ronaldo, who had received this trophy in 2008 and 2013, explained expects to earn a fourth: “I never thought I would win three Ballon d’Or awards. I want to become one of the greatest players of all time. I want to catch Messi. I will work hard.”

Real Madrid could not celebrate a perfect night, as Carlo Ancelotti came second in the voting for the Coach of the Year award. Joachim Low won the award with 36.23% of the votes. Ancelotti received 22.06% and Diego Simeone got 19.02%.