Six Real Madrid players in the List of the UEFA Champions League...

Six Real Madrid players in the List of the UEFA Champions League Awards


The awards for the best players of the Champions League of last season will be next August 24, and the list of finalists has been published today on the UEFA website. After a great season of Real Madrid, where they won for fist time in the history their second Champions League in a row, there are six players of twelve who are nominated for the awards of the UEFA Champions League, and for sure the award of the best midfielder will be for a Real Madrid player, because of the three nominated midfielders, all of them currently play in the team managed by Zidane.

Real Madrid dominate the list, with six players of the squad in a a list of 12 players in total. The team managed by Zidane played an incredible Champions League in last season, where they knocked out Napoli, Bayern Munich, Atletico Madrid and Juventus in the final and that’s why there are so many players included in the list. The performance Real Madrid players in the best club competition was amazing, highlighting Cristiano Ronaldo who scored 12 goals in 13 games.

However, the winners will be announced during the draw of the UEFA Champions League group stage on August 24 in Monaco. The candidates have been selected by 32 managers who participated in the group stage of the Champions League 2016-2027, along with 55 journalists. The prize for the Best Player of the Champions League will also be awarded, but the candidates will not be announced until August 15.

These are the nominated players for the Champions League 2016-2017 awards:

Best Goalkeeper:

  • Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus)
  • Manuel Neuer (Bayern Múnich)
  • Jan Oblak (Atlético de Madrid)

Best Defender:

  • Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus – now at AC Milan)
  • Marcelo (Real Madrid)
  • Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)

Best Midfielder:

  • Casemiro (Real Madrid)
  • Toni Kroos (Real Madrid)
  • Luka Modric (Real Madrid)

 Best Striker:

  • Paulo Dybala (Juventus)
  • Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)