Three Great Real Madrid El Clasico Wins

Three Great Real Madrid El Clasico Wins


We are finally here. After weeks of buildup, it’s D-Day for Los Blancos in a must win encounter against bitter rivals Barca. On the morning of a pivotal El Clasico encounter, here are three great Real Madrid triumphs over Barcelona to get you in the mood for the big game.

Barcelona 0-1 Real Madrid:  April 20, 2011 – Copa del Rey Final

Jose Mourinho struggled as a manager in El Clasico but did oversee an important win against the club where he was once an interpreter. The manager that deals in trophy wins got the job done to land the 2011 Copa del Rey.

It was an unusually tepid affair which only served to increase the nerves inside Valencia’s Mestalla stadium. Normally these matches are end to end and full of goals but this was more like a high-speed game of chess, with Mourinho constantly stifling Pep Guardiola’s attack-minded tactics.

The match was 0-0 after 90 minutes so went to extra time. Then as is so often the case, Cristiano Ronaldo came up with the goods. The Portuguese hitman powered home an unstoppable header to settle the contest. Angel Di Maria was also sent off in the dying moments.

Real Madrid 4-1 Barcelona: April 10, 2005 – Real Triumph In Thriller

Current head coach Zinedine Zidane was playing for Los Blancos in this one and he opened  the scoring, before powerful Brazilian forward Ronaldo added a second. Samuel Eto’o pulled one back for Barca but the two-goal cushion was restored by Real madrid icon Raul in first-half injury time.

The second half was just as entertaining, with the match being played at frenetic pace. Michael Owen notched a fourth goal for the home side and a late Ronaldinho strike proved to be nothing more than a consolation for Barcelona who had been played off the park.

Real Madrid 4-1 Barcelona: May 7, 2008 – The Last Guard Of Honour

There will be no ‘pasillo’ on Saturday, despite Real Madrid having recently lifted the Club World Cup. A Guard of Honour is a Spanish custom where two rows of players applaud the new champions onto the field of play. This was last done in El Clasico in 2008.

Having been confirmed as La Liga champions, Real Madrid hammered the point home in emphatic fashion. Goals from Raul, Arjen Robben, Gonzalo Higuain and Ruud van Nistelrooy helped Real to humiliate Barca while Xavi was given his marching orders to complete a miserable night for the Blaugrana.