Carlo Ancelotti: Referee did not see penalty kick clearly

Carlo Ancelotti: Referee did not see penalty kick clearly


Carlo Ancelotti thought otherwise when the referee decided to not reward Real Madrid a clear penalty kick.

“Naturally the penalty was very clear for me. I think everyone saw it, the only person that didn’t see it was the referee,” Ancelotti said in the post-match press conference according to Sky Sports.

The controversial decision was not the only thing that Ancelotti thought went against Madird during the match.

“It’s a difficult decision, but it was at an important movement and if the penalty had been given, it may have been another yellow card too,” he said.

Asier Illarramendi was left out of the starting eleven because he had a muscle sprain sustained in Wednesday’s match against Juventus in the Champions League. Ancelotti put Ramos in his place.

“I played Ramos there to look for balance in the middle of the park, I asked him about it before and he said he wanted to play there so I put him in,” he said.

Ancelotti added that he “did not play defensively” and that “Barcelona did not play with anymore attackers than they did.”

Although Real Madrid lost the Clasico, Ancelotti found it interesting. “It’s a fascinating game and atmosphere, I think it was a great game we showed we can play well against a fantastic team. Of course you want to win this kind of game but at the moment we are improving and this game proves that.”